[CentOS] New Standard/Daylight time-change dates in rhel4u2 but not centos4.2?

s.davison at computer.org s.davison at computer.org
Mon Nov 7 14:18:06 UTC 2005




>From a login on a machine with rhel4u2
I can execute the following commands and get
the indicated output:

date --date="Mar 25 15:00:00 UTC 2006"
    Sat Mar 25 10:00:00 EST 2006

date --date="Mar 25 15:00:00 UTC 2007"
    Sun Mar 25 11:00:00 EDT 2007

As you can see, the output differs for 2006 and 2007.  That
indicates that rhel4u2 includes changes required by the
"Energy Policy Act of 2005," which mandates new dates for
transition between Standard Time and Daylight Saving Time
starting in 2007.

If I do the same thing on a machine with
"CentOS release 4.2 (Final)", I get the following output:

date --date="Mar 25 15:00:00 UTC 2006"
    Sat Mar 25 10:00:00 EST 2006

date --date="Mar 25 15:00:00 UTC 2007"
    Sun Mar 25 10:00:00 EST 2007

So it looks as if CentOS4.2 does not yet have that change.

Is that correct?  Or is there perhaps some installation
parameter that I have missed in installing CentOS4.2?

Thanks for any info.

Stowe Davison






More information about the CentOS mailing list