[CentOS] Time Change: Centos-immune?

Florin Andrei florin at andrei.myip.org
Wed Mar 7 18:22:43 UTC 2007

Stephen Harris wrote:
> Any process started before you update /etc/localtime (and ensure that
> got updated correctly; it may not have been) may need to be restarted
> if it uses zoneinfo information.  Two obvious ones are syslog and cron.
> The safest solution is to reboot.

OK. So let me see if I get this right:

# ls -l /etc/localtime
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 1017 May  5  2006 /etc/localtime
# rpm -qf /etc/localtime

The system also has tzdata-2007c

So /etc/localtime hasn't been touched in a long time, but tzdata has 
been updated recently. That means, all daemons that haven't been 
restarted since /etc/localtime has been updated, need a restart. Right?

By the way, the system passes the empirical US DST '07 test (there's a 1 
hour difference between the two outputs - if they were identical that 
would be a problem):

# date --date="Mar 25 15:00:00 UTC 2006"
Sat Mar 25 07:00:00 PST 2006
# date --date="Mar 25 15:00:00 UTC 2007"
Sun Mar 25 08:00:00 PDT 2007

Florin Andrei


More information about the CentOS mailing list