Actually it *IS* a source change. The `confAUTO_REBUILD' option has been deleted from the sendmail source files for some time now. One can put that option in the sendmail.mc configuration file, but it will not be used because it isn't in the source any more. I've double checked this and have looked at the source. Now, I suppose if one isn't using a current version of sendmail, then this option may still be in the version you are using.