[CentOS] pop3 attack

Wed Dec 10 18:05:33 UTC 2008
Bill Campbell <centos at celestial.com>

On Wed, Dec 10, 2008, John R Pierce wrote:
>Ned Slider wrote:
>> Bill Campbell wrote:
>>> Your IP address,, is listed on zen.spamhaus.org, and
>>> you can probably go to their web site to see why it's listed.
>> It's listed on zen.spamhaus.org because it's in pbl.spamhaus.org which 
>> is a policy blocklist:
>> http://www.spamhaus.org/pbl/query/PBL238253
>> Time Warner Cable/Road Runner's policy is not to permit outbound email 
>> for this IP address range.
>so, using a roadrunner mail server as a "smarthost" is the only viable 

Or some other server where they are willing to whitelist that
address.  We do this for several of our customers who are on
networks that have delivery problems of one kind or another,
usually on a port other that 25 to get around outgoing blocks or
automatic redirection to a broadband provider's server.

INTERNET:   bill at celestial.com  Bill Campbell; Celestial Software LLC
URL: http://www.celestial.com/  PO Box 820; 6641 E. Mercer Way
Voice:          (206) 236-1676  Mercer Island, WA 98040-0820
Fax:            (206) 232-9186

Currencies do not float, they sink at different rates.