[CentOS] pop3 attack

Wed Dec 10 19:25:12 UTC 2008
Lanny Marcus <lmmailinglists at gmail.com>

On Wed, Dec 10, 2008 at 12:40 PM, Ned Slider <ned at unixmail.co.uk> wrote:
> Bill Campbell wrote:
>> Your IP address,, is listed on zen.spamhaus.org, and
>> you can probably go to their web site to see why it's listed.

> It's listed on zen.spamhaus.org because it's in pbl.spamhaus.org which
> is a policy blocklist:
> http://www.spamhaus.org/pbl/query/PBL238253
> Time Warner Cable/Road Runner's policy is not to permit outbound email
> for this IP address range.
> There is no indication your server has been compromised or abused, just
> that Time Warner Cable/Road Runner have decided you shouldn't be running
> a mail server on that IP address range.
> Sspamhaus.org is a hugely popular list so this is going to be a big
> problem for you.

Spamhaus for sure is hugely popular. My web hosting ISP (OLM in CT)
started using it and I was having problems using SMTP, because the
Dynamic IP's we were getting from our local ISP were frequently listed
on Spamhaus. I gave up and began using Gmail. No problems sending
email now.  :-)