[CentOS] ADMIN issue - manitu

Thu Dec 5 18:19:53 UTC 2013
Kai Schaetzl <maillists at conactive.com>

Actually, Manitu, also known as NIXSpam, is quite a good list. I've been 
using only this one and Spamhaus for years. Very good FP:Spam ratio.

I, too, had an issue with the list lately and contacted the maintainer of 
the project who gave me a good explanation of why Facebook servers may be 
listed on it (they don't stop sending to discontinued users that have been 
bouncing for at least half a year).

If the mailserver of your provider sends spam it's absolutely fine to put 
it on the list. Or, in other words, that's what the list is for in the 
first place. If Hostmonster feels that there is only few spam running over 
their servers and they cannot get this down to zero (which is reasonable) 
then they can contact them and ask to be put on the whitelist.

I don't know what you mean by "My hosting provider works with those jerks 
at manitu". Does your hosting provider use them to block you? Or does he 
work with them to resolve the issue?

> selfip.biz

I don't see the relevance. You should provide the URL, so one could 
actually check the headers of the mail (it doesn't list the content) and 
decide if it could have been spam. If it indeed was spam (either by 
content or by definition) I don't see what's wrong with putting it on the 
list according to list policy.
selfip.biz is actually a domain they use for their spamtraps. So, this 
mail was sent to a spamtrap. One could argue whether a mailserver should 
send to hostname.selfip.biz at all as it may be not be a real mailserver 
(but you don't know). But that's a different story.

Most of the time RBLs are fine as long as people don't get on them 
themselves :-)